bill bokey

Best System For Samplitude 9 ?

hello :D

I am a guitarist and record demos at home. I use VSTis (ezdrummer, elektrik piano, B4) and Amplitube 2 (for test guitar tracks)

I have 30-50 tracks on my songs. (can be more)

I want to get samplitude 9 and the best system for it.

I have a Presonus Firepod, but can get another one if that's not good enough. opinions ?

as I don't know much about computer stuff, can anyone please help me find the right equipment ?

I read this :

http://support.magix.net/boards/samplitude...showtopic=10870

if there is nothing to add, then I will go with it. I have always used AMDs but do Intels work better ?

a friend of mine mentionned Raptor disks and Raid 5. do I need that ?

thanks in advance for your help :P

Dont worry about raptors and raid 5. your building or buying a pc for audio not a video renderer or a data center. :D

Im using the amd am2 setup

3800+

3 gigs ddr2 553

couple of 250 gig sata drives

2 dvd burners

gaming graphics....for half life 2 :D

E-mu 1820M audio card :D

the intel core duo has proven to be faster, but it is a little more expensive after the amd price drop.

either cpu will be good. its worth it to note the quad cores are starting to come out, from both amd and intel....and vista is comming out soon..which I have been running and have refused to go back to xp :P

ask around, youll be fine.

Mike

ok, thanks. :D

a few more questions :

will samplitude 9 work with Vista ? or what's the best OS for sam 9 ?

will sam9 work better/faster with a quadcore cpu ?

any opinions on the Firepod ?

Not superlative, but at least very good...pres decent enough, AD and DA work well...trouble free unit...used one for quite a while for remotes, and they produce excellent results...knobs a bit flakey, but protecting them should present no problems...

Huge bang for the buck....