headlands

Done With Cubase, Possibly Coming To Sam...some Q's:

Hello all...I have heard nothing but fantastic things about Samplitude and about the forums here...very different from Cubase right now.

A short history (bear with me): I'm a professional composer who lives in smoggy L.A. - I score a number of TV shows (some of which many of you might watch, who knows!) and do awards shows for MTV and the like. I also do a lot of songs for movies, etc...so it runs the gamut. I've been on Cubase for about 5 years now, and I feel abandoned by the company...I just can't take it anymore. I come from a very strong engineering background, and know my stuff in that regard.

> I know that the workflow in Sam is different...I'd like to hear from some ex-Cubase users here in that regard. I work extremely fast, and it's important for me to have a very smooth and fast interface, technically - doing tons of mouse clicks to get one simple thing done doesn't work for me, and Cubase is pretty good in that regard. I'm 100% willing to learn a new way of working, as long as it's very fast and intuitive once you get it.

> I know that Sequoia has a much more advanced video engine, but all I need is to be able to import QT videos and work to them, locked to the project. I need to be able to shift timecode references to the video, and the like, but I don't need actual video editing capability, really. Do I need spend three THOUSAND dollars on Sequoia so I can use video?

> I use tons of VSTis in my work, as well as ACID loops, etc. How are both of these things handled in Sam?

> Is there a feature similar to Audio Warp on Cubase4 (or the much better implementation of it on Sonar6)?

> Does Sam support DUAL dual-core configurations?

> Any issues with multiple UAD-1 cards?

> Is quantizing MIDI as flexible as Sonar/Cubase?