Zoot

I Need Convincing....

I need some advice...I'm an ageing musician looking to update my home studio from 16 track hard-disk 'portastudio' to a DAW pc. Researching which DAW software to go with has been a nightmare - but I was very impressed with the review of Sam9 in SOS.

My main concerns are

1. whether this software (Sam9) is going to be newbie friendly

2. Being used to real faders and knobs will I be able to get a suitable control surface to work with Sam? (having read the thread ( http://support.magix.net/boards/samplitude...showtopic=13451 ) "control surface" this is a big concern). I was thinking of using a Tascam 1884 or similar Mackie model, or if I'm feeling very rich perhaps a tascam DM3200 mixer/controller.

Someone needs to convince me that I would be better with Sam (and a surface that works with it) than protools LE and a 003.

Thanks in advance

Hi,

honestly, Samplitude is great. It certainly can do everything you need.

BUT:

- Samplitude's actual benefit is having non linear-approaches under the hood that hint at different workflows that you might be used to

- HWC controller integration has not been one of the strongest points.

So, IMO Samplitude is of course much better than Digi 003/PT LE. For me. If I was looking for a replacement for a Portastudio, I would go somewhere else. Maybe for Digi.

Regards,

Sebastian

it's the reason it use samplitude.

I remember it took me about 5 min to understand how to record and mix, without reading the manual.

it was with sequoia 7 at a friend's homestudio. I was using logic platinum then and have tried cubase 3 but samplitude is much easier to use than either of them.

I guess, everybody can find that out by using the Demo. The mileage may vary.

I came aboard with V5.2, but I think I would never have made it without the help from a colleague that spent 2h explaining me his workflow. I cam from ProTools then that I was tought to use in University.

/S

hi Zoot,