KoolRifz

Am I Thrashing My Daw Rig?

I wanted to post this in Hardware but I'm waiting to be giving permissions to post. As I'm approaching a recording date on Monday, I'll post here.

I'm a school teacher and after giving the IT fellas the specs for a pretty hefty DAW rig to run Samplitude 10pro, they bought me an HP xw4400. View specs here

I'm getting errors when recording and mixing.

RECORDING

This is what I'm doing when I'm recording educational material:

Tutorial 1

- create a 32 bars of drum and bass in Reason and export as WAV.

- import WAV (60MB) into samplitude track 1

- record me playing 32 bars on track 2

Tutorial 2

- reuse the 32 bars of drum and bass from track 1 by copy and paste

- record me playing 32 bars on track 2

I'll repeat this process 5 or 6 times and in doing so I eventually start getting errors creeping into the recording.

Mixing

16 tracks

using a combination of AUX effects and individual track effects.

IT reaches a point where the playback is stuttered and

What is a reasonable amount of VST plugins to use before the system starts to vomit?

I tried to use EQ on the mixer as much as possible to avoid using VST plugin presets.

Is this the computer or me? Am I being unreasonable? - Hope it's me.

Cheers,

Rob

Hi Rob,

I know the XW 4400 pretty well. It is a reliable computer.

You need to check the state of HD and CPU at the time the errors occurr. Doctors use a method called "differential analysis". I'd claim it applies analoguously in such cases.

Also, make sure that you use the hybrid engine in V9. Otherwise only 1 core will be running.

Good luck,

Sebastian

hi Rob,

Some questions for you:

What operating system? (XP, Vista or?)

What sound card / audio interface? (the integrated audio, the optional Soundblaster or?)

Are the two hard drives configured as a RAID 0 or 1 or are they just seperate drives?