Larry Jones

Vocal Comping [SOLVED]

If I intend to record a bunch of vocal takes and comp them together, is there a certain record mode I should be in when recording? I tried a couple of takes and when I opened the Take Composer I saw two "tracks," but they were the same take. Do I have to put each take on a separate track? Sorry, I've only done this in SONAR, where each track can display all the takes on that track in layers.

Hi Larry

I’m in the middle of trying to become fluent with Samplitude recording workflow too (I'm a Samplitude newbie from Sonar) and have found Kraznet’s videos very helpful in this respect. The way I understand it is that you set up loop record to do some passes of what you’re recording (lets say it’s a vocal) When you’re done, highlight (select) the vocal takes on the track (it will look like there’s only one) and open up the ‘take manager’. There you will see the takes you’ve done in the loop recording. If you play the project and put a tick on one of the takes in the take manager, that’s the one you’ll hear.

The other way is to choose ‘take composer’ in the ‘take manager’. That will open up a new window where you now see the actual vocal takes as objects. (it’s a bit like Sonar ‘lanes’ but it’s in a separate window) There you can pick the bits of vocal that you want to use and comp the takes (similar to Sonar). When you’re done, close the take composer and you’ll be given the opportunity to save your comp.

What I would like to see in Samplitude is a straight forward way to be able to just drag the takes and peel them off one by one and put them on separate tracks.

The workaround I’ve been trying is to open up the take composer, and in the main VIP window, create some empty tracks and then highlight the takes in the take composer and drag them into the empty VIP tracks.